About the Enterprise Maribyrnong Special Committee

The Enterprise Maribyrnong Special Committee (the EMSC) was established by Council pursuant to section 86 of the Local Government Act 1989 on 19 May 2015.

The EMSC has been delegated certain duties and functions to make decisions in relation to:

  • determining the allocation of business grants for proposals to improve enterprise in the Footscray and Yarraville business districts in line with Council Plan priorities.
  • advising Council on economic development issues which have an impact on Maribyrnong City Council where appropriate or requested.

Terms of Reference

In addition to the duties and functions delegated by Council, the EMSC is guided by its Terms of Reference to assist Council in achieving its vision of the City of Maribyrnong as a leader in urban economic transition and renewal, and to create vibrant and successful urban places with excellent business opportunities and meaningful employment.

A copy of the EMSC Terms of Reference can be downloaded below.

The EMSC Membership

The EMSC comprises three Councillors and eight representatives across six of the City of Maribyrnong’s key business sectors, as follows:
  1. Education, Training and Footscray University Town
  2. Retail Regional
  3. Local Registered Trader Organisations - Footscray and Yarraville
  4. Manufacturing
  5. Transport and Logistics
  6. Creative Industries.