2020 Council Election

Local council elections are held every four years in October.

The 2020 Maribyrnong City Council Election was conducted by postal voting.

The election was conducted by the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC), the statutory provider of election services for all council elections in Victoria. Lodgement of postal votes closed on Friday 23 October, 2020 at 6pm.

2020 Election result

The Victorian Electoral Commission declared the elected representatives of the 2020 City of Maribyrnong Council Elections on Saturday, 8 November 2020.

The election results are as follows:

River Ward: Sarah Carter and Anthony Tran.

Stony Creek Ward: Cuc Lam and Bernadette Thomas.

Yarraville Ward: Michael Clarke, Simon Crawford and Jorge Andres Jorquera.

The elected representatives were sworn in as Councillors on Tuesday, 10 November 2020 at Maribyrnong City Council, corner Hyde and Napier Streets, Footscray at a Special Meeting of Council.

Failure-to-vote infringement notice reminders

Following the October 2020 Maribyrnong City Council General Election the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) will issue apparent failure-to-vote notices to persons who were required to vote but appeared not to have, seeking reasons for not voting.

Infringement notices will then be issued by the VEC to those who did not respond to the apparent failure-to-vote notices or did not provide an adequate reason for not voting.

All enquiries and payments of infringement notices must be made to the VEC by one of the payment methods explained on the infringement notice.  Council cannot accept payments and cannot respond to queries on behalf of the VEC.  All enquiries must be directed to the VEC by telephoning the VEC’s compulsory voting centre on 1300 551 575.

Useful resources

There is a range of useful resources for people who wanted to learn more about local government as a sector, and past council elections. Visit these websites if you would like more information:

Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC)

Local Government Victoria (LGV)

Victorian Local Governance Association (VLGA)

Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV)

Australian Local Government Association (ALGA)

Australian Local Government Women's Association - Victoria Branch

Safe Campaigning Guidelines

Know Your Council

Want more information?

If you have any questions about council elections, contact the VEC on 131 832 or visit the VEC's website.