

**Maribyrnong City Council** 

SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL MINUTES

Wednesday 7 November, 2018 6.30pm

Council Chamber
Level 1
Maribyrnong Council Offices
Corner Hyde and Napier Streets, Footscray

# **MEMBERSHIP**

Councillor Cuc Lam
Councillor Sarah Carter
Councillor Simon Crawford
Councillor Catherine Cumming
Councillor Gina Huynh
Councillor Mia McGregor
Councillor Martin Zakharov

To be confirmed at the Ordinary Council Meeting to be held on 20 November, 2018

## 1. COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING AND WELCOME

The meeting commenced at 6.33pm.

The Chair, Chief Executive Officer, Stephen Wall made the following acknowledgement statement:

"We acknowledge that we are on traditional lands of the Kulin Nation. We offer our respect to the Elders of these traditional lands, and through them to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples past and present".

#### **PRESENT**

Councillor Sarah Carter Councillor Simon Crawford Councillor Gina Huynh Councillor Cuc Lam Councillor Mia McGregor Councillor Martin Zakharov

#### IN ATTENDANCE

Chief Executive Officer, Stephen Wall
Director Community Services, Clem Gillings
Director Corporate Services, Celia Haddock
Director Infrastructure Services, Steve Hamilton
Director Planning Services, Nigel Higgins
Manager Public Affairs and Community Relations, Deidre Anderson
Manager Governance and Commercial Services, Lisa King
Coordinator Governance, Danny Bilaver

## 2. APOLOGIES

Nil.

# 3. LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Cr Catherine Cumming was previously granted a leave of absence for this meeting.

## 4. DISCLOSURES OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Nil.

#### 5. OFFICER REPORTS

# 5.1. Confirmation of the Mayoral Term

The purpose of this report was to confirm that the next Mayoral term will be for a period of one year.

#### **Council Resolution**

That Council confirms that the Mayoral term be for a period of one year commencing from the declaration of the election result of the Mayoral election by the Chief Executive Officer.

Moved:

Cr Cuc Lam

Seconded:

Cr Mia McGregor

**CARRIED** 

# 5.2. Election of the Mayor

The purpose of this report was to elect a Mayor of Maribyrnong City Council.

The Chair, Chief Executive Officer, Stephen Wall, advised that the election of the Mayor was to be held in accordance with the Local Government Act 1989, and the Maribyrnong City Council Governance Law 2011, and called for nominations for the Mayor.

Cr Martin Zakharov was nominated by Cr Cuc Lam. There being no other nominations, the Chair, Chief Executive Officer, Stephan Wall, declared Cr Martin Zakharov the Mayor of Maribyrnong City Council for a period of one year.

## 5.3. Election of the Deputy Mayor

The purpose of this report was to elect a Deputy Mayor for a period of one year to coincide with the Mayoral term.

The Chair, Mayor Cr Martin Zakharov, advised that the election of the Deputy Mayor was to be held in accordance with the Maribyrnong City Council Governance Law 2011, and called for nominations for the Deputy Mayor.

Cr Gina Huynh was nominated by Cr Sarah Carter. There being no other nominations, the Chair, Mayor Cr Martin Zakharov, declared Cr Gina Huynh the Mayor of Maribyrnong City Council for a period of one year to coincide with the Mayoral term.

# 5.4. Appointments to Council's Audit Committee and Special Committees established Under Section 86 of the Local Government Act 1989

The purpose of this report was to appoint Chairs of the City Development Special Committee (CDSC), the Enterprise Maribyrnong Special Committee, and members of the Audit Committee for a period of one year to coincide with the terms of Mayor and Deputy Mayor, and to note representation on the Inner Melbourne Action Plan Implementation Committee.

#### Council Resolution

#### That Council:

- 1. Appoints Councillor Simon Crawford as Chair of the City Development Special Committee for a one year term, to coincide with the Mayoral/Deputy Mayor term.
- 2. Appoints the Mayor (ex-officio) and Councillors Sarah Carter and Cuc Lam as members of the Enterprise Maribyrnong Special Committee for a one year term, to coincide with the Mayoral/Deputy Mayor term.

3. Appoints the Mayor (ex-officio) and Councillors Gina Huynh and Mia McGregor as representatives to the Audit Committee.

4. Notes the appointment of the Mayor and the Chief Executive Officer to the Inner Melbourne Action Plan Implementation Committee.

Moved:

Cr Sarah Carter

Seconded:

Cr Gina Huynh

CARRIED

## 6. URGENT BUSINESS

Nil.

# 7. MEETING CLOSURE

The Chair, Mayor Cr Martin Zakharov, declared the meeting closed at 6.40pm.

To be confirmed at the Ordinary Council Meeting to be held on 20 November, 2018.

Chair, Mayor Cr Martin Zakharov