

## **COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES**

Tuesday 8 November, 2022 6.30pm

Community Hall Braybrook Community Centre 107–139 Churchill Avenue Braybrook

### **MEMBERSHIP**

Councillor Sarah Carter Councillor Michael Clarke Councillor Simon Crawford Councillor Jorge Jorquera Councillor Cuc Lam Councillor Bernadette Thomas Councillor Anthony Tran

To be confirmed at the Council Meeting to be held on 15 November, 2022

### 1. COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING AND WELCOME

The meeting commenced at 6.36pm.

The Chief Executive Officer, Ms Celia Haddock as Chairperson, welcomed everyone to the Council Meeting to facilitate the election of the Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillor Committee Appointments for 2022 – 2023.

The Chair, Ms Celia Haddock made the following acknowledgement statement:

"We acknowledge that we are on the traditional lands of the Kulin Nation. We offer our respect to the Elders of these traditional lands, and through them to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, past and present and emerging".

#### **PRESENT**

Councillor Sarah Carter
Councillor Michael Clarke
Councillor Simon Crawford
Councillor Jorge Jorquera
Councillor Cuc Lam
Councillor Bernadette Thomas
Councillor Anthony Tran

#### IN ATTENDANCE

Chief Executive Officer, Celia Haddock
Director Community Services, Lucas Gosling
Director Infrastructure Services, Patrick Jess
Director Corporate Services, Lisa King
Director Planning and Environment, Laura Jo Mellan
Manager Customer Engagement, Lauren McKenzie
Manager Governance and Commercial Services, Phil McQue
Governance Officer, Jessica Baguley

#### 2. APOLOGIES

Nil.

#### 4. DISCLOSURES OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Nil.

### 3. OFFICER REPORTS

## 5.1. Term of the Mayor and the Deputy Mayor

The purpose of this report was to confirm by resolution the term of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor, as required by the Local Government Act 2020.

#### Council Resolution

That Council resolve that the term of the Mayor and the Deputy Mayor is for one year.

Moved:

Cr Michael Clarke

Seconded:

Cr Anthony Tran

**CARRIED** 

### 5.2. Election of the Mayor

The purpose of this report was to consider the election of the Mayor.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that the Mayor and Deputy Mayor elections are being conducted in accordance with the prescribed requirements of Part B of Council's Governance Rules.

The Chief Executive Officer, Celia Haddock invited nominations for the Office of Mayor.

Councillor Michael Clarke nominated Councillor Sarah Carter. Councillor Carter accepted the nomination.

No other nominations were received.

The Chief Executive Officer declared Councillor Sarah Carter elected to the Office of Mayor for a one year term.

Councillor Sarah Carter assumed the Chair.

# 5.3. Election of the Deputy Mayor

The purpose of this report was to consider the election of the Deputy Mayor.

The Chair, Cr Sarah Carter invited nominations for the Office of Deputy Mayor.

Councillor Anthony Tran nominated Councillor Cuc Lam.

Cr Cuc Lam accepted the nomination.

No other nominations were received.

The Mayor declared Councillor Cuc Lam elected to the Office of Deputy Mayor for a one year term.

# 5.4. Councillor Committee Appointments - 2022/23

The purpose of this report was to consider the appointment of a Chairperson for Council's City Development Delegated Committee, and Councillor appointments and Councillor delegate appointments to Council's Audit and Risk Committee, Enterprise Maribyrnong Delegated Committee, and the LeadWest Joint Delegated Committee.

### Council Resolution

#### That Council:

- Appoints Councillor Michael Clarke as the Chairperson of the City
   Development Delegated Committee for a one year term, to coincide with
   the Mayoral term;
- 2. Appoints the Mayor (ex-officio) and Councillor Anthony Tran and Councillor Cuc Lam as members of the Enterprise Maribyrnong Delegated Committee for a one year term, to coincide with the Mayoral term;
- 3. Appoints Councillor Cuc Lam and Councillor Michael Clarke as representatives to the Audit and Risk Committee, and notes the appointment of the Mayor as a substitute representative; and
- Appoints Councillor Cuc Lam as the Councillor delegate and Councillor Anthony Tran as the proxy Councillor delegate to the LeadWest Joint Delegated Committee.

Moved:

Cr Anthony Tran

Seconded:

Cr Michael Clarke

CARRIED

#### MEETING CLOSURE

The Chair, Councillor Sarah Carter, declared the meeting closed at 6.49pm.

To be confirmed at the Council Meeting to be held on 15 November, 2022.

Chair, Cr Sarah Carter