

Maribyrnong City Council SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL MINUTES

Wednesday 6 November, 2019 6.30pm

Council Chamber
Level 1
Maribyrnong Council Offices
Corner Hyde and Napier Streets, Footscray

MEMBERSHIP

Councillor Megan Bridger-Darling Councillor Sarah Carter Councillor Simon Crawford Councillor Gina Huynh Councillor Cuc Lam Councillor Mia McGregor Councillor Martin Zakharov

To be confirmed at the Ordinary Council Meeting to be held on 19 November, 2019

1. COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING AND WELCOME

The meeting commenced at 6.33pm.

The temporary Chair, Chief Executive Officer, Stephen Wall made the following acknowledgement statement:

"We acknowledge that we are on traditional lands of the Kulin Nation. We offer our respect to the Elders of these traditional lands, and through them to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples past and present".

PRESENT

Councillor Megan Bridger-Darling Councillor Sarah Carter Councillor Simon Crawford Councillor Gina Huynh Councillor Cuc Lam Councillor Mia McGregor Councillor Martin Zakharov

IN ATTENDANCE

Chief Executive Officer, Stephen Wall
Director Community Services, Clem Gillings
Director Infrastructure Services, Steve Hamilton
Director Corporate Services, Celia Haddock
Director Planning Services, Nigel Higgins
Manager Public Affairs and Community Relations, Deidre Anderson
Manager Governance and Commercial Services, Lisa King
Coordinator Governance, Danny Bilaver

2. APOLOGIES

Nil.

3. LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil.

4. DISCLOSURES OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Nil.

5. OFFICER REPORTS

5.1. Confirmation of the Mayoral Term

The purpose of this report was to confirm that the next Mayoral term will be for a period of one year.

Council Resolution

That Council note that the Mayoral term will be for a period of one year commencing from the declaration of the election result of the Mayoral election by the Chief Executive Officer.

Moved:

Cr Megan Bridger-Darling

Seconded:

Cr Cuc Lam

CARRIED

5.2. Election of the Mayor

The purpose of this report was to elect a Mayor of Maribyrnong City Council.

The Chair, Chief Executive Officer, Stephen Wall, advised that the election of the Mayor was to be held in accordance with the Local Government Act 1989, and the Maribyrnong City Council Governance Law 2011, and called for nominations for the Mayor.

Cr Sarah Carter was nominated by Cr Martin Zakharov. There being no other nominations, the Chair, Chief Executive Officer, Stephan Wall, declared Cr Sarah Carter the Mayor of Maribyrnong City Council for a period of one year.

The Mayor, Cr Sarah Carter, assumed the Chair.

5.3. Election of the Deputy Mayor

The purpose of this report was to elect a Deputy Mayor for a period of one year to coincide with the Mayoral term.

The Chair, Mayor Cr Sarah Carter, advised that the election of the Deputy Mayor was to be held in accordance with the Maribyrnong City Council Governance Law 2011, and called for nominations for the Deputy Mayor.

Cr Megan Bridger-Darling was nominated by Cr Gina Huynh. There being no other nominations, the Chair, Mayor Cr Sarah Carter, declared Cr Megan Bridger-Darling the Deputy Mayor of Maribyrnong City Council for a period of one year.

5.4. Appointments to Council's Audit and Risk Committee and Special Committees established Under Section 86 of the Local Government Act 1989

The purpose of this report was to appoint Chairs and representatives of Special Committees established under section 86 of the Local Government Act 1989 (the Act), members of the Audit and Risk Committee, and to note representation on the Inner Melbourne Action Plan Implementation Committee.

Council Resolution

That Council:

- Appoints Councillor Gina Huynh as Chair of the City Development Special Committee for a one year term, to coincide with the Mayoral/Deputy Mayor term.
- 2. Appoints the Mayor (ex-officio) and Councillors Simon Crawford and Cuc Lam as members of the Enterprise Maribyrnong Special Committee for a one year term, to coincide with the Mayoral/Deputy Mayor term.
- 3. Appoints Councillors Martin Zakharov and Megan Bridger-Darling as representatives to the Audit and Risk Committee and notes the appointment of the Mayor as a substitute representative.
- 4. Appoints Councillor Mia McGregor as the Councillor delegate and Councillor Cuc Lam as the proxy Councillor delegate to the LeadWest Committee.
- 5. Notes the appointment of the Mayor and the Chief Executive Officer to the Inner Melbourne Action Plan Implementation Committee.

Moved:

Cr Megan Bridger-Darling

Seconded:

Cr Cuc Lam

CARRIED

6. URGENT BUSINESS

Nil.

7. MEETING CLOSURE

The Chair, Cr Sarah Carter, declared the meeting closed at 6.41pm.

To be confirmed at the Ordinary Council Meeting to be held on 19 November, 2019.

Chair, Cr Sarah Carter