Parking Management Policy 2017

This Parking Management Policy provides principles to guide parking attractiveness in the city for residents, business, workers and visitors, it aims to:

  • Provide car based visitor access that maximises both attractiveness and visitation to the activity precincts.
  • Optimises community benefit by ensuring high vehicle turn over
  • Maintains and enhances residential amenity.

This Policy was developed with the input from the Community Advisory Group established with members representing residents and key traders/ venue operators across the eight identified precincts, these precincts include:

  • Braybrook
  • Footscray CBD
  • Footscray Hospital
  • Highpoint
  • Seddon
  • West Footscray
  • Whitten Oval
  • Yarraville

Details of this Policy can be found below.

Parking-Management-Policy-311017.pdf(PDF, 615KB)

We’re bringing back paid parking to Footscray

Parking sensors were installed in 2018 and found the occupancy of parking spaces in the precinct exceeded 85%, meaning it is getting increasingly harder to find a parking space.

To ensure a higher turnover of parking spaces, and make it quicker and easier to find a parking space, we will be introducing paid parking.

This is following recent consultation with the community and will be effective in the Footscray CBD from 24 June 2019.